OGB update: Announcement

I’m not generally superstitious, but I decided for some reason it would be unlucky for me to make this announcement before receiving the corrected manuscript of One Green Bottle from my proofreader / copy editor. Perhaps because I was afraid she might tell me it needed rewriting, or even worse, that it didn’t need rewriting because it wasn’t worth reading anyway. But the envelope arrived the other day and she’s not only zapped all the typos and ironed out some inconsistencies but written, ‘I really enjoyed it – quite a page-turner!’  So with no superstitions to prevent me, I can now announce that I signed a publishing agreement a few weeks ago, and OGB will be released shortly by the small, recently established indie publisher, Meizius.

You might imagine me at this point doing cartwheels of joy round the garden. But that’s not the case. Mainly because I can’t do cartwheels any more and even if I could, I wouldn’t, because the garden’s strewn with pyracantha thorns. But also because my joy is of the measured, restrained variety. I’ve been down this road before. A few years ago, a small, recently established indie publisher brought out a book of mine and it disappeared without trace. So delighted as I am, I’m making no assumptions, nor building up expectations. On the other hand, I have two good reasons to hope that this time it might be different. Firstly, the previous novel was long, complicated and by all accounts difficult to read, whereas OGB is much easier. And secondly, I’m now at least aware that the hardest part is still to come – the marketing and promotion.

One immediate consequence of landing the deal is that I set up another wordpress site at curtisbaussebooks.com. I didn’t announce it and I thought it would remain invisible for a while, but a few wily explorers have found it, and although it’s still embryonic, even started to follow (for which, many thanks!). The reason I set it up was to focus more on the book, its sequel, and writing in general, as opposed to the rambling sort of stuff that goes on here. So the other blog is for the millions of fans occasional visitor people who actually want to know about the books, and this one is for anyone who wants to read the general hotchpotch it appears to have turned into. That doesn’t mean you won’t get stuff about writing here (that’s why I started it, after all), but whereas on the other one I’ll try to be serious all the time, on this one I feel able to faff around as the fancy takes me.

curtis bausse OGB          Curtis Bausse

Now over the past few months, I’ve read a huge amount about building a platform, setting up a brand and what have you, and I’m fairly sure my approach is contrary to all established wisdom in the matter. But what all that reading gives me mostly is a headache (this post by Atthys Gage gives a fuller analysis of the problem), so I’m adopting the one piece of advice I read very early on, which is to do whatever you feel comfortable with. I’m sure one day I’ll feel comfortable with the other blog too, but for the moment it feels like when I go over there, I’m putting on a suit and tie. Which is fine (every so often), but it’s always nice to slip into something more casual. So before I start thinking a bit more about my suit-and-tie blog, I’d like to say thank you to everyone who’s visited, liked or commented on this one, and made it a place where I feel so comfortably at home. Since following the excellent blogging 101 and 102 courses at the beginning of this year, I’ve been in touch with a whole variety of interesting, supportive, creative people who have all helped to make this blog what it is. My sincere thanks to you all – and now, if you’ll excuse me, I must see to the other blog. Now where did I put that tie…?

21 thoughts on “OGB update: Announcement

    • Thanks for your comment – yes, the hard work begins now! Re the pics, I went through a phase of snapping shop window dummies whenever I travelled. Never thinking they’d come in handy, but with a blog, you never know… Best wishes.

      Like

  1. Best of luck with both the publication and the new blog (which looks very professional). I hope you don’t mind the suggestion, but in my (limited) experience a tab linking between the blogs is a good way to funnel a little traffic between the two (ie a tab here to the book blog, and one there to here).
    Best, Matt

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CURTIS!!! WOW! CONGRATS! You must be feeling so great! Nothing like seeing your book in print – apart from that lovely warm feeling one must get when an editor says they love it! ( not happened to me yet!)
    Very glad for you, looking forward to ordering the new book!

    Oh, fyi, when you link in the blog, and link to your new site, I suggest going back into the link and clicking on “open in a new window” so people still have your site open too. Unless of course you deliberately chose not to do that!

    May One Green Bottle sell many many books!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Debbie – yes, it’s the culmination of a lot of work, not to mention the sometimes demoralsing search for an outlet, so it is indeed a great feeling – enhanced by comments such as yours! Thanks for that link suggestion – currently trying to figure it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

